Hats of Hope

Here is one of the reasons I have’nt had a chance to blog lately, I have been busy making these!!!!

I have been making these for a friend of mine. She was just recently diagnosed with breast cancer. She is only 37, no family history. She just had a bilateral mastectomy and will be starting chemo pretty soon. I decided to make her these to wear, they are my hats of hope and encouragement.

I used many different patterns, and I changed some of the patterns. These were the patterns I used.   Cable Knit Cap from Head Huggers

                             Laced Edged Womans Hat from Head Huggers

                               Stretchy Knit Hat from Head Huggers

                                Black Sea Hat from Grumperina

                              Brooke’s Column of Leaves Hat from Brooke Nelson

                                Foliage by Emilee Mooney from Knitty

 For all of the hats I used Canon Simply Soft and just adjusted my stitches to fit. I did have 2 hats that came out too small, but instead of frogging them, I kept them for my girls. Their bears are modeling them.

 

Have a great weekend.

4 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    November 30, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    My thoughts are with your friend – how scary! I am sure those lovely hats will cheer her up.

  2. Dipsy D. said,

    December 2, 2007 at 2:31 am

    I’m so very sorry to heat about your friend’s illness – my thoughts are with her, sending over as many good wishes and positive energies as possible! It’s ever so kind of you to knit all those beautiful hats for her – there’s such a variety of gorgeous patterns and colors, that’ll cheer her up considerably!

  3. waitingforcopper said,

    December 2, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    I know she’ll love them. 😉

  4. purlingswine said,

    December 20, 2007 at 6:46 am

    what terrible news for your friend —- your hats are lovely and she will certainly appreciate them.


Leave a Reply

