My New Passion

Now that all my kids are in school, and I have this free time during the day. I really can’t spend all of it knitting!! or can I???  I have discovered I love to do something I thought I would always hate. COOKING. I don’t really have any cook books so I’ve been checking out recipes on the internet. The other day I was in a store and look what I bought.

                       
They were all on sale $4.99, I could have bought alot more, but I stopped myself. I have cooked over the years, but it was a disorganized mess. Alot of times my family preferred to eat out than have me cook. But now I get “Whats for dinner”, nobody wants to order out, and DH has put on 20lbs (I on the other hand have lost 25lbs, all this eating healthy meals rather than take out). For the first time in my life I love cooking. I also bought this in the same store.

                          Click to Close

But I paid alot less (less than $20.00), I have been making Smoothees everyday.

12 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    April 19, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Sounds like you’re having a lot of fun!!

  2. aleakamh said,

    April 19, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    If you cook things that cook low and slow, then you can fit in LOTS of knitting and not get those “aren’t you ever going to do anything but knit looks” you simply say, “I am just beat! I have been cooking that stew for HOURS!”
    lol
    I love Rachel Ray! She makes you think “Heck, if she can do this, ANY one can!”

  3. Kelly said,

    April 19, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    wozers! Whats for dinner P?? I’m coming over 🙂

  4. suzanne said,

    April 20, 2007 at 8:18 am

    That is wonderful!!! I am so proud!!!! Cooking is an important life skill–I cannot believe you lost 20 lbs! That is fantastic!!

    I like cooking sometimes….like when I have a glass of wine in my hand!

  5. Dipsy D. said,

    April 20, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Wow – that’s a whole lot of goodies you got for yourself – I get all hungry when I just think of all the awesome recipes in that book! Have fun cooking them all! 😉

  6. cillianblue said,

    April 22, 2007 at 7:01 am

    Oh no, are going to make us drool over pictures of what you’re cooking up? I’ll start gaining weight just reading your blog! Bon appetit!

  7. ann said,

    April 22, 2007 at 9:43 am

    check out Ina Garten’s cookbooks – not a bad one in the bunch. I have made loads of her recipes and they are all delicious! congrats on the weight loss – maybe I should start taking my meals at your house?!

  8. April 24, 2007 at 9:15 am

    OMG! $5! Really!!! I have been checking out, renewing and rechecking out the Rachel Ray cookbooks from our library for a while now. What store were you at? I wouldn’t mind that smoothie maker either. My 10 y.o. has discovered that he can make those and that he LOVES them. That would be cool if he had his OWN smoothie maker.

  9. April 24, 2007 at 9:15 am

    OMG! $5! Really!!! I have been checking out, renewing and rechecking out the Rachel Ray cookbooks from our library for a while now. What store were you at? I wouldn’t mind that smoothie maker either. My 10 y.o. has discovered that he can make those and that he LOVES them. That would be cool if he had his OWN smoothie maker.

  10. firefly8868 said,

    April 25, 2007 at 7:36 am

    What fun! Good luck with the new hobby … which sounds like it is already off to a great rolling start. I just made a Pesto Couscous salad this weekend, which was very refreshing. I posted the recipe. My DH loved it, as did the folks at our church.

    Have a great day!
    firefly

  11. Tussilago said,

    April 26, 2007 at 3:24 am

    Congratulations on your new hobby!!! I am sure you`ll be even more loved by your family and friends now;)) My housband love to cook..and I love to bake…so we spend fun ours in our kitchen together;)) Whats the traditional dishes and cakes at your home?

  12. Carol said,

    April 27, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Looks good to me! Funny how we change even when we don’t intent to. Nice haul there!


Leave a Reply

