This and That

I am so burnt out on meetings, I’ve gone to so many meetings this week it is crazy. But we are done now for a while, so I’m back to my normal schedule this week. On top of this my son broke his pinky finger on his right hand. After his basketball game he fell over the ball!!! and hurt his finger, being the true and compassionate nurse that I am, I told him “Oh, its fine, it’ll be better tomorrow” Well the next day it was swollen to twice the size, so off we went(guilt ridden Mom) to the ER. Sure enough it was broken. Now imagine being in the ER for a couple of hours with a 12 year old extremely active boy, he was trying to do wheelies in the wheelchair while waiting for his xray. The doctor gave him a note for no basketball for a week, he tried to get the doctor to write “no school for a week, but it was OK to play basketball”. Needless to say he did’nt go for it.  On the way home all he kept saying to me was ” see Mom I told you there was something wrong with my finger”. Did I feel bad!!!

I have started 2 projects, the first one looks like an alien but it will look so cute when its finished.     I’ve had this pattern for a while, and finally started it. Hopefully by next week I’ll be able to show you the finished project. The second project is for my daughters teacher, she’s expecting a baby. So i’m crocheting a blanket.

   
I’m still doing the Runagogo, 

I’m walking 10 miles a week, so my total is 44.8miles, 55.2 miles to go by April 1st. I think I have decided on my reward. I am going to knit this sweater (long sleeved version)

saharaproduct.jpe

Finally I had been walking to different music I had downloaded,  but then I finally downloaded Lime & Violet podcasts.

I can’t belive I had’nt listened to  them before, they are so funny. I get strange looks as I’m power walking and laughing at the same time.  Wow this was long, have a great day.
 

10 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    February 9, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    I hope your son’s finger heals quickly!! Hmm, is that a frog you’re knitting? Looks like a gorgeous sweater – what yarn are you going to use?

  2. knittymama said,

    February 9, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Love that sweater!

    I agree, those girls crack me up! Although they drive my husband nuts:-)

  3. Tussilago said,

    February 10, 2007 at 4:56 am

    Well…we have a saying in Norway..”the shoemakers children go barefeeted”. Do you get the meaning? But I`m sure you did it all in the best of meanings, not wanting your son to become a hypochondriac 😉
    I loved the pattern for the baby-blanket, lokkong forward to se it finished;) Are yoy knitting a bunny…or a frog? You got me curious now;)
    We have a lot of snow now…For sure we`ve got 70-80 cm just for the last two days. So far it has been no wind…cause that would have made it harder to cope with. We`re used to a lot of snow..so it`s really no big deal..
    I`ll try remembering to take some photos for my blog today…

  4. suzanne said,

    February 11, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Good choice on the sweater–I would knit it too!

    Active kids–I know what you mean! Mine are never, ever still. The BoyWonder is nearly jogging while he is doing his homework; during the world cup he had to act out every kick he saw on the tv screen. So it does not get any better when they get older???

  5. Carol said,

    February 11, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Ah well, so you don’t get the mother of the year award this year. Neither do the rest of us;) Great pick for a sweater! I like the long sleeved version too. Walk mamma walk!

  6. Dipsy D. said,

    February 12, 2007 at 12:16 am

    All the very best to your son – I hope his finger heals quickly! This sweater must be one of the most beautiful ones that I’ve seen for long – looking forward to seeing your version of it!

  7. jennifer said,

    February 12, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    hang in there, paula! hope your son is doing better – that sweater is FAB!

  8. Tamara said,

    February 12, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    You are right! It does look like you are knitting an alien frog! I hope your son’s finger gets better quickly! I have to start making a baby present for my daughter’s teacher too. The same daughter had a pregnant teacher last year too. I hope that this year’s teacher makes it all the way to end of the year without having to go on bed rest like last year’s. I like Lime and Violet too but I really like Cast On – have you listened to that one yet?

  9. aleakamh said,

    February 13, 2007 at 11:43 am

    I need to know what the frog thing is too!
    I love Lime & Violet! I look forward to thier podcast all the time.
    hope your son is doing good-

  10. Irish Clover said,

    February 15, 2007 at 9:56 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your son’s finger (it doesn’t seem to be affecting him much though, isn’t that amazing about kids???). The baby blanket looks great, and I love that sweater, too! I’ve been eyeing the pattern for a while. Okay, what is that frog looking thing??????


Leave a Reply

