Sewing 101

I have’nt sewed since I got asked to leave the Home Econ class in high school (that’s a story for another day). My Mom was a great seamstress, but not me. Although give me a glue gun and I can do wonders. For Christmas my 2 daughters and I were given a small!!! sewing machine, I thought this will be fun, all the girls bonding (I had forgotten what a dangerous piece of equipment a sewing machine can be). Anyway D#2’s puppet theater had seen its last legs, it was time for a new one. I had seen one at D#1’s girl scouts, so I asked where did you buy it. Her reply “I just made it out of left over scraps, no pattern involved” So off I went, got me some scraps (had to buy them), 2 shower curtain rods, and thought “No Pattern” I can do this. OK so it took me a couple of hours to figure out how to thread the needle on the machine, and then a couple more hours to realise you had to thread the bottom thing too. But here it is my daughters puppet theater, and my first sewing project in years.

My daughter loves it, she has been putting on a puppet show for us at night. I had some left over material from it, so I decided to try and make her a bag to hold her puppets in.

           

Now I need to actually get a pattern to try and make something else. These were pretty easy, I’m sure if you look real close there are mistakes, but D#2 thinks it is the best thing I ever made for her, and I guess that’s what really matters. Have a great day.

5 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    February 2, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    Wow, that puppet theater is pretty amazing – especially as your first project! And the bag is really cute.

  2. Dipsy D. said,

    February 3, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Lovely puppet theater and bag – I love the fabrics!

  3. knittymama said,

    February 3, 2007 at 7:47 am

    That’s awesome!!!! I was thinking of making on for the boys birthday too. yours torned out so cute. How are you hanging it?

  4. aleakamh said,

    February 5, 2007 at 10:50 am

    I was going to make a pupet theater for my little one for christmas- but my dad bought one first! At least we all know what he enjoys!
    I love yours! So bright and colorful!
    And the bag for puppets! Great Idea!

  5. March 15, 2007 at 7:12 am

    LOVE IT!


Leave a Reply

