Winter Break Is Over!!

All the kids went back to school yesterday, we had an extended winter break due to the snow. We are meant to have more snow this weekend. Normally our snow is gone in less than 12 hours, but because it is colder than normal we still have alot of snow on the ground. It has been a busy week. Son #2 turned 12 on Saturday Jan 6th. I now have a “TWEEN” in the house, although Sat night I had 8 tweens sleep over for his birthday (they were alot quieter than when I had the 9 year old girls sleep over). It is amazing how quickly our kids grow, you blink and they are all grown up. So because of how quickly time goes by, and how often we look to the future and not live in the moment, I decided my New Years Resolution is to “Live in the moment, enjoy what I have now, spend the time with the people I care about and stop worrying about tomorrow”

Now I have actually done some knitting

                          

I think I am addicted to the Fetching gloves. Here’s a close up of the gloves.


  Fingerless Mittens: Pattern Fetching from Knitty.com

         Scarf:                  Pattern: Potato Chip Scarf from Knitpicks,com

                                     Wool: Caron Simply Soft, Color Sutumn Red

 I made this set for me, they are so warm, I think I’m going to make more.

I also made a pair for D#1, but I adjusted the pattern. She picked the colors out of left over yarn I had. She even wears them in bed.

 I used the Fetching pattern but adjusted it to fit. I only cast on 36 stitches, then I did 2 x2 rib instead of cable, and I used size 2 needles.

Finally I’m still doing the Runagogo, 

I walked 6 miles last week (94 miles to go). Got to keep myself motivated, so I treated myself to this  Sorry the picture is blurry. Of course I had to get the TWEEN to help me download songs to it. So today I walked 2.2 miles, only 91.8 miles to go. Have a great day.
      

7 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    January 9, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    Great Fetchings!! How cool that you got an ipod – have you downloaded any knitting podcasts yet??

  2. aleakamh said,

    January 9, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    I love the fingerless mittens- those may be next after the socks!

  3. Carol said,

    January 9, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Happy New Year! When you love a pattern, you have to run with it! No pun intended. I always turn to th ekids for help with electronics…

  4. scout said,

    January 9, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Whoo hoo! Did you get the Nike+ too??

  5. Dipsy D. said,

    January 10, 2007 at 9:59 am

    I really like your New Year’s Resolution, it’s the best one indeed – we’re often spending way too much time to worry about tomorrow, so much so that we don’t fully realize anymore what’s happening today!
    Love your Fetchings, they look amazing!

  6. olga said,

    January 11, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    I likey those gloves! I plan on making some too. I was thinking of using the silky wool,’cause thats what I got, hopefully it’ll turn out ok! Anyhoo- its leave a comment week so everyblog I read I’m commenting! Your resolution reminds me of what (I think) John Lennon said, about life being a journey and not the destination. So sorry if I butchered that one.

  7. Molly said,

    January 25, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Hello!
    I must tell you how much I’ve appreciated your visits to babyfindsakazoo. I have had a hard time finding your blog, because blogger doesn’t link directly here from your comments.

    Now that I’m finally here, I have to say I love the ruffly scarf you made. Also, I am mighty tempted to make some of the sweet fetching mitts myself.

    best wishes!


Leave a Reply

