Happy New Year

Happy  New Year to everyone. One of my resolutions is to get into shape, I use to run most days but I have’nt done anything in a while, so I needed something to give me a kick start. As I was reading blogs yesterday, look what I found on Scouts.

                        

Now I won’t be running, as my knee can’t handle it anymore, so I’ll be walking. Started my first 2 miles yesterday.

Want to see more snow. We had the worst snow storm since 1950’s.

             

DH, myself and D#2 went for a 2 mile walk in it. It was beautiful to see especially if you could stay at home. But of course I had to work Fri, Sat, Sun, and Monday night. The hospital I work in went on a Code Grey (which is an emergency alert level for bad weather), we had to be prepared to stay 24 hrs in case the oncoming staff could’nt make it. They provided us with beds, food, and scrubs, and we brought our overnight bags with us for each shift we worked. Fortunately I did’nt have to stay the night, staff all got to work, our CEO went and drove people who could.nt get their cars out. Staff carpooled 2 and 3 co workers. Each shift tried to come in an hour earlier so the previous shift could get out early. It was amazing to see such teamwork and caring between co-workers, it makes you realise why you work where you do. Now there is more snow forecast for this weekend, and I’m working again!!! I don’t drive in the snow at all, so lucky enough S#1 works in the same hospital as I do on the same nights. He drives with me sitting in the back, knitting, so I can’t watch his driving. Due to the snow, the rest of the kids were meant to go back to school yesterday, but now its not until Monday!!!! Have a great day.

7 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    January 4, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Wow, what an amazing amount of snow!! I’m glad the kids are enjoying it! We had 4″ on New Year’s Eve, but it’s almost all melted now. What is going on when Albuquerque has so much more snow than Minneapolis?? Sounds like you have GREAT coworkers – keeping my fingers crossed for you this weekend…

  2. jennifer said,

    January 4, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    i still cannot get over HOW MUCH SNOW you guys have out there – and here it’s 55 degrees and not feeling very wintery. hope the kiddos are enjoying themselves – and that you get some time away from the hospital to enjoy it with them!!!
    happy happy, paula!

  3. Kelly said,

    January 4, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    I can’t believe the snow you’re getting. That is usually us right now!
    Be careful!

  4. Carol said,

    January 4, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Seems you’re getting all the snow there. you’re also probably getting better walks in it too! Sounds like you do work for the right place! Good luck in the upcoming weeks and Happy New Year to all!

  5. scout said,

    January 4, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    And they had BETTER be able to go on Monday!

  6. Dipsy D. said,

    January 4, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    I can’t believe the loads of snow you got, seeing that we still haven’t gotten any here in the Alps. Duh 😉 But hey, enjoy it while it lasts – the kids seem to have the most amazing time with it!
    And yay for joining the KAL, I’ve thought about joining this one too 😉
    Happy New Year!

  7. lobstah said,

    January 6, 2007 at 7:31 am

    Unbelievable how much snow you’re getting! Isn’t it a great feeling when people come together to accomplish something…the only unfortunate thing is that this usually only happens in times of crisis!


Leave a Reply

