Christmas Tree

I usualy have all my decorating done by now, but this year I’ve only just started

D#2 decorating the tree, believe it or not D#1 is decorating too!!!!!!!

She is actually googling Christmas Trees and then directing her sister on where to put the ornaments. D#1 is one of a kind, she likes to be in control. Must have got it from me, as I use to be so anal about decorating the tree, everything had to be just right, but then I realised I was taking the fun out of it for the kids. So for the last few years it has been their job to decorate the tree. I put on the lights and then they get to put all the ornaments on. My husband and I have so much fun sitting there watching them. The majority of the ornaments have a story or a special meaning, and as they hang them up they tell us about the ornament. The smiles on their faces is what it is all about. Sure my tree looks lopsided, and some areas are top heavy with ornaments, but they are so proud of their decorating. I can’t replace the happy memories they have of decorating the tree, with the perfect looking tree. Have a great day.

8 Comments

  1. rches16 said,

    December 11, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    That’s what I try to tell myself everytime the 2-yr-old moves another decoration on the tree.

  2. ann said,

    December 11, 2006 at 8:14 pm

    I did the same thing when my girls were young! for many years, only the bottom half of our tree was decorated : ) even now, it is their job but thankfully they’ve both gotten much taller!

  3. Chris said,

    December 11, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    Whoa, that’s pretty efficient!

  4. Dipsy D. said,

    December 11, 2006 at 11:48 pm

    What an absolutely amazing tree you have – but well, with the help of your little ones it just has to become a beautiful tree, seeing how much enthusiasm they all put into it! Fantastic!

  5. Kelly said,

    December 12, 2006 at 8:14 am

    rofl googling christmas trees, smart cookie hehe
    It will look fabulous when its done!

  6. Tamara said,

    December 12, 2006 at 10:29 am

    That’s what we did too – I unwrapped and the girl hung the ornaments. They didn’t want any garland so we have no garland. It is simple – but they did it:) Your tree is going to be beautiful!

  7. Carol said,

    December 12, 2006 at 11:45 am

    Your tree looks fabulous! I’ve done the same. It’s now the kid’s job to deck the tree. Sorry for missing the posts, I’m just getting over a nasty illness.

  8. Amy said,

    December 13, 2006 at 9:14 am

    how funny, I had no idea there was a science to tree oranament placement


Leave a Reply

