Scout’s Meme

I don’t usual do these, but I wanted to do this one.

How And When Did You Learn To Knit/Crochet? Who Taught You?

I learnt to crochet when I was 5, my Mom taught me. She gave me a hook and a ball of wool and had me make chains. I think my chain was about 20 feet long, so I think she decided I could increase my knowledge. She also taught me to knit. We also learnt to knit in elementary school in Ireland (boys and girls). I always wanted to learn, as my Mom could knit and crochet anything. We always wore knitted sweaters in the winter, and I always remember watching her knit Aran sweaters, dresses, and hats, and thought someday I’m going to do that.

How Has The Craft Impacted Your Life?

Many different ways. I’ve met some great people that I probably would never have met. Some of the babies that I crochet baby blankets for their baby showers are now 8-9 year old and they show me their blanket that I made them that they still use to sleep with, it gives me such a good feeling. I find I am less stressed when I knit or crochet.  I enjoy the feeling it gives me when I have completed something. Now my girls are learning, and it feel like it connects the whole family. It is now a tradition, each mother showing her children how to knit/crochet.

Pick At Least One Person To Talk About Who You Have Met Through The Knit World?

Ok, there are too many people to just be able to pick one. But I guess if I had to pick one it would have to be Scout. I met her at my daughters gymnastics, she was sitting making socks for her little girl. Now at this time I had’nt knit for about 20 years, I just crochet all the time. So I started talking to her about the socks, were they hard to make. Needless to say, by the following week I was sitting with Scout making my own pair of socks, which has led to my own sock addiction. Strange Little Mama was also there. So every week for about a year we had our own little knitting group at our daughters gymanstics. Scout is a very dynamic, wonderful person. She is full of life, and a bundle of energy, I feel like a slug sometimes next to her. I don’t think I would ever have met her if it were’nt for knitting. I also would’nt have met the other knitters in the blog world if it was’nt for Scout. She started my blog page for me, I did’nt have a clue what to do, so she did it for me. So thank you Scout and thank you knitting, I have met some great people through you.

6 Comments

  1. rches16 said,

    November 17, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    Don’t worry, we all feel like slugs next to Scout.

  2. Dipsy D. said,

    November 18, 2006 at 6:21 am

    Loved reading through your answers – thanks for sharing! Who would have thought where knitting would lead us, how many wonderful people we’d get to meet through it!

  3. scout said,

    November 18, 2006 at 9:38 am

    Oh you made me get all teary! E-mail me because I have something exciting to tell you!

  4. Chris said,

    November 20, 2006 at 9:16 am

    Thanks for sharing your story – it’s always fun to learn how people got started on their passion.

  5. Carol said,

    November 20, 2006 at 1:18 pm

    A nice story, thanks for sharing.

  6. Irish Clover said,

    November 20, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    Loved your answers! My great aunt taught me to knit and my grandmother taught me to crochet. My grandmother taught my mom as well and hopefully, one day, I’ll teach my son.


Leave a Reply

