Can You Guess????

 What this is

               

and this

             

Here they are out of the box

            

I bet Kelly knows.  They are Christmas Crackers, and no you don’t eat them. Growing up in Ireland, these were a Christmas tradition that we had every year after eating Christmas dinner. You pull them apart and they make a bang/snapping noise, inside is a paper hat, joke and a toy. We use to love doing them. Since I moved here I’ve had them every Christmas with my kids, but they are usually hard to find and expensive. But last year I found them here, and they have an endless supply at a good price. Normally the crackers are wrapped in gold, red, green, etc., but yesterday when I was at the store, I found these kids character ones, so I just had to get them. I’ll have to hide them because if my kids find them (even the 25 year old) they’ll want to pop them right away. Have a great day.

12 Comments

  1. Kirsten said,

    October 11, 2006 at 5:55 pm

    We have Christmas Crackers every year at my parents. They are so much fun! We all sit around the table with those silly crowns on our heads.
    I seem to remember seeing somewhere instructions on how to make them yourself. I wish I could remember where.

  2. Chris said,

    October 11, 2006 at 6:33 pm

    I knew they were Christmas crackers!! Those are fun.

  3. Kelly said,

    October 11, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    Yay for crackers!
    I have a picture somewhere with Sockies and I with matching ones on last year. We always pull our at the start of dinner and wear then while we are eating! Oh and Michaels has them too, and we just got in Make your OWN cracker kits which I thought were neat!

  4. Dipsy D. said,

    October 12, 2006 at 1:24 am

    Hey, these Crackers look like they’re so much fun! I’ve never heard about this tradition before – I love learning new stuff about different countries’ traditions and such, and most especially when it’s Irish! 😉

  5. Amy said,

    October 12, 2006 at 11:50 am

    I love hearing about traditions from other places, cute idea.

  6. Sheri said,

    October 13, 2006 at 10:35 am

    We never did the Christmas cracker thing, but I joined a Christmas Hamper program last year for this year. There is a package in one of the hampers I chose. I’m sure the kids will love them!

  7. Tussilago said,

    October 13, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    I guessed what they were…
    We have them in Norway as well, but then as decorations on a special kind of cace.. called TÅRNKAKE.

  8. ann said,

    October 15, 2006 at 3:29 pm

    I love that store!

  9. Mandie said,

    October 16, 2006 at 6:23 am

    So since you’re a former step dancer, and you’re Irish, and you knit, I thought you might be able to tell me about the socks.

    My daughter is new to step dancing and I’d love to knit her socks. Do you know of a suitable pattern? I’m not sure what the requirements are for the socks, and I think if I asked the other moms they would look at me like I had a second head when I said I was going to knit socks lol! But at $9 per pair, I might as well knit them.

  10. firefly8868 said,

    October 20, 2006 at 11:03 am

    Such fun; my kids and I used to pop them every New Year’s compliments of my MIL.

    ~firefly

  11. jennifer said,

    October 21, 2006 at 7:11 pm

    i love the paper crowns you get inside – they’re such fun! i should wear mine when i’m housecleaning.

  12. Bridget said,

    October 23, 2006 at 12:55 pm

    I love Christmas crackers! These are really different looking though, thanks for the pictures.


Leave a Reply

