In Progress

I’m working on a couple of knitting projects at the moment. I think I must have ADD as I can never do 1 project at a time, have to always do 2-3. The first one is the “CITY SHAWL”, I believe I first saw this pattern from Strange Little Mama, she always finds the prettiest patterns. I’m using thicker wool that the patterns says, as I want the shawl to be thicker. Here’s a picture:

                

I’ve also started a pair of socks. Using Lorna’s Laces wool. The pattern is Raindrop Lace Socks. I’m not going to make my socks as long as in the pattern. Here is a pic.

                  

Is’nt it a pretty color, oops you can see the shawl in the background. Now to reading, I finished “Knit One Kill Two” by Maggie Sefton. I enjoyed this book, it is a quick read. I have also started reading the Tea Shop Mysteries by Laura Childs. These are very quick reads,  I have finished the first two.  “Death By Darjeeling” and “Gunpowder Green” I also enjoyed these.

                            Book Cover

I’m going to read this book next, I have never read any of this author’s books. My goal this summer was to read only books by authors that I had not read before. It has been fun as I have found some new authors that I really enjoyed their work. There is no consistency in my reading, or my book choices. I have loved reading since I was a little child, I will read anything. I read every night in bed before I go to sleep, D#2 is the same. Have a great day everyone.

7 Comments

  1. carole said,

    July 31, 2006 at 8:22 pm

    What yarn are you using? It looks pretty!

  2. Dipsy said,

    August 1, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Oh, your shawl looks so absolutely gorgeous, and so do the socks!! What a great pattern, and I really love the colors you chose to work with! Looking forward to seeing them finished!
    I’ve read one of Laura Childs books a while ago, can’t remember the tiel though (at least not the english one as I read it in German), and I really enjoyed her way to write – easy and quick reads as you said, but with fun twists in the plot and nice characters!
    I’ve never heard of Jean Hegland before and am really interested in reading your review of it once you’re done with reading!

  3. Amy said,

    August 1, 2006 at 1:57 pm

    the shawl looks lovely. Other good quick and easy reads are the Maxine and Stretch mysteries by Sue Henry and the Anna Pigeon, park ranger series by Nevada Barr.

  4. Tussilago said,

    August 1, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    I like your shawl. I think it must be one of the fashion colours for this fall!! I was also wandering about the yarn…what kind?
    The socks look fresh…looking forward to see more of them;)
    Reading. I`ve also been reding this summer, decided to do a lot of reading…because for some time I`ve only been study-reading…and it`s been hard to read just for the pleasure of it;)
    Some years ago I red some books by Maeve Binchy…Tara Road,Quentins…Circel og friends(I red that one in norwegian, can`t remember the english title) and The copper beech…I did like her writing.
    I would like to read The Tea shop mysteries…I like mysteries…like Agathae Christie..is it anything like hers…or isn`t it mysteries at all? 😉

  5. Chris said,

    August 2, 2006 at 12:47 am

    Both shawl and sock look great! There’s a fun set of mysteries about a NYC coffee shop written by Cleo Coyle – you mentioning the tea mysteries reminded me to go look for the latest one at my library. Have you read any of Susan Wittig Albert about China Bayles, herb shop owner in small-town Texas? Those are pretty fun – and knitting and dyeing are occasionally mentioned.

  6. JulieFrick said,

    August 2, 2006 at 7:56 pm

    GREAT shawl! I can’t wait to get started on Glampyre’s Forecast. IF I can do mohair in this heat, Cascade 220 should be a cool breeze!

  7. ann said,

    August 2, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    I have a pair of Raindrop Lace socks on the needles too! love the pattern!


Leave a Reply

