Grandma Update

                  

After finally managing to drag my Mom down to the ER on Tuesday for xrays, it turns out she broke her right wrist. Even though we were in the ER for 5 hours, I have to say everyone was so nice, they even found a nurse from Ireland who has worked in the ER for 30 years and had emigrated from Ireland 40 years ago(she’s in her 70’s and still working, The Irish are tough), to take care of my Mom. Normally the ER just put a temporary cast on and then you go to the Ortho doc to get the real cast, but that can take up to a week to get in to see them, and my Mom is leaving this weekend. The ER doc was so nice , he called the ortho doc and got the OK for a temporary and for my mom to see her ortho doc back in Ireland, he even went and got the hard copies of the xrays so we did’nt have to make an extra trip back down. The other good news is that she is not flying back to Ireland by herself, my brother is meeting her in California (he’s on vacation with his kids there), and they are all flying back together. So while we were waiting in the ER, I made my Mom this:

           

she had chosen the colors, it is a crochet shawl. Here’s a close up picture (knew that treadmill would be handy for something)

             

The pattern is: Blue Jeans Shawls I did’nt use the wool or size crochet hook the pattern suggests. Instead I used a size I crochet hook, and 2 balls(5 oz/278 yrds) of Red Heart Color 0413 Farmland. It is so warm on, and my mom loves it.

Update on my Summer Reading, I have finished the Trilogy byPosie Graeme-Evans that I was reading, they are “The Innocent”, “The Exiled”, and “The Uncrowned Queen”. It was a good read, I enjoyed them, I was just a little disappointed in the ending. Here’s my next book “Knit One, Kill Two” by Maggie Sefton. Hey it includes some of my favorite things knitting, reading, and mysteries.

                    Book Cover

Hope everyone has a great day.

4 Comments

  1. rches16 said,

    July 20, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    Poor mom! I can’t believe you crocheted that whole shawl sittng around the ER

  2. knittymama said,

    July 20, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    Glad your mom’s okay! I am so amazed you crocheted that so quickly!! It’s beautiful!

  3. Kelly said,

    July 21, 2006 at 1:48 am

    my goodness your poor mum! That trip sure did go quick, i’m sure you don’t want her to go back.
    The shawl you made is awesome, and you crocheted it sooo fast!
    Hey thats one knitting book I haven’t noticed before, might have to pick that one up, I now of course want to read shop on blossom street as well 🙂

  4. Chris said,

    July 21, 2006 at 2:40 am

    Your poor mom!! I’m glad she got a cast on it before going home. And I SO cannot believe you made that whole shawl in 5 hours – wow!

    I liked Knit One, Kill Two. Have you read any of the Monica Ferris mysteries?


Leave a Reply

