Beginning and Ending!!!!

The "Carnival" handpainted socks by Scout are done

                                 

I used a sock pattern by Sockbug "River Rapid Socks", it is meant to be for top down with 2 needles, but I used 4 double pointed needles US2. It was a really quick and easy pattern to make. Next pair of socks is the "Cedar Creek Socks"

                                   

well, actually only 1 sock completed, I'm working on my 2nd one now. Its all Scout's fault for showing me her handpainted wool, and for talking me into the "Shadow Shawl" knit along. I've started the shawl, here is the beginning of it

                                

This pattern was very frustrating to start, I must have ripped it out 8-10times (although I was forewarned regarding this). My problem was that I was reading the grid backwards ( hey, I'm from Ireland we drive on the other side of the road, so its understandable). So I wrote out the first 50 rows and it was much easier. Now I'm on a roll. I'm making this for my Mom's birthday, she's coming to stay from Ireland for a month this summer. Her favorite colors are Lavender and Charcoal grey. Growing up she always knitted us sweaters, including Aran sweaters, all our sweaters were handknitted by her. Last year she crocheted 2 shawls each for both of my daughters, so it will be great to see her wear something I made for her.

Last but not least Thank-you to everyone who has commented on my blog, I really enjoy reading everyone's blog, it can be addicting. Have a great day.

5 Comments

  1. jennifer said,

    May 8, 2006 at 8:21 pm

    oh! those river run socks are gorgeous – i will have to check out the pattern. you’ve got such a cute blog – i’m impressed by all the socks. and i’m so happy you (and your kiddos) are enjoying the slow cooker recipes, too!

  2. Kelly said,

    May 9, 2006 at 10:15 am

    Hey Lady!
    Great socks! Your pumping those out like there’s no tomorrow huh! Ohhh I bet your excited to see your mum this summer. My nanny and granda and mum’s best friend is coming over so they will have the house full. Good thing is I get goodies that I’ve been missing!
    Sad thing is the only thing I can think of that I want is cooking chocolate…… any ideas???

  3. Scout said,

    May 9, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    Those look AWESOME! Should I bring the Lobos yarn today? It’s al lI have left……

  4. rches16 said,

    May 9, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    You have been busy. It all looks awesome!

  5. Chris said,

    May 22, 2006 at 11:56 am

    Your socks are great! But I REALLY love the colors of your shadow shawl – my favorite colors. 🙂


Leave a Reply

