Bad Habits/Good Habits!!!

I have had a very bad habit for years, that 6 months ago I finally quit. Alot of people did’nt even know I did this, infact it never happened in the house, or car, only outside. I had tried many times to quit, used all the new tools for quitting but always  failed. Finally I quit cold turkey in Feb of this year, yes I quit smoking!!!.  Part of what helped me was running, I started the Couch to 5K program listening to Katia and Kyliemac podcast (yes I did get strange looks as I laughed out loud while running). It has been 6 months now since I quit, I am now running 4-6 miles a day with the help of Freeway to 10K. I had been saving my nicotine money for a special treat, here is what I bought:

             

                                It is the Trek FX 7.2 WSD.

I spent alot of time researching this, thanks to Chris from Stumbling over Chaos for all her advice and suggestions. So this week I have cycled 13 miles a day  for 3 days listening too Katia and Kyliemac, Lime & Violet, and Stash & Burn podcasts. I am really loving this bike.

             

6 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    September 5, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Congrats on being a non-smoker and on the GORGEOUS new bike! For some reason, I get the best exercise riding my bike – I’m always soaked to the skin and out of breath when I’m done.

  2. scoutj said,

    September 5, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    YAY Paula!! I’m so proud of you! Now come run with ME!

  3. Donna said,

    September 5, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    I never work with you any more, so I never noticed ;) Awesome for you, Paula!! I hope to be running as much as you do! Couch to 5K is the only thing that has kept me motivated.

    Good for you!

  4. suzanne said,

    September 6, 2008 at 9:17 am

    CONGRATS! It took me ages to quit too. It was a long and drawn out process….to put it gently. And you replaced it with a good habit–I am SO PROUD!

  5. Ramona said,

    September 15, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Congratulations on quitting! I love the bike and I agree Katia and kyliemac are always good for a laugh!

  6. kyliemac said,

    October 1, 2008 at 5:31 am

    yay for the no-longer-smoking! CONGRATS! now you can come to paris and sit INSIDE the restaurants with me. :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

